Apple Pie Recipe by April Athena

Fresh baked apple pie with woven crust

Deliciously sweet apple filling topped off with a golden lattice crust, this pie developed by Baking Star contest judge April Athena of CookWithApril has 11% fewer calories* and 53% less sugar* than the regular sugar-sweetened version. Makes 8 slices.

Serving size: 1 slice (125g)

Calories: 320 Calories

Ingredients

Crust

Filling

  • 12 cup unsalted butter

  • 3 Tbsp flour

  • 14 cup water

  • 14 cup Truvía® Cane Sugar Blend

  • 14 cup Truvía® Brown Sugar Blend

  • 5 apples, sliced

Directions

  • 1.

    Preheat oven to 375°F. In a large bowl, use a fork or pastry cutter to combine flour, shortening, Truvía® Cane Sugar Blend, and salt.

  • 2.

    Mix water and egg then add to pie mixture. Mix until doughy. Knead/roll half of dough into 8” diameter. Insert flattened dough into pie pan and conform to shape.

  • 3.

    Knead/roll remaining dough to use for top of pie. Cut 1” strips of dough and set aside.

  • 4.

    Bake bottom pie crust at 375°F for 15 minutes.

  • 5.

    Wash, peel, and core apples.

  • 6.

    In a medium sauce pan, add melted butter, flour, water, Truvía® Brown Sugar Blend, and Truvía® Cane Sugar Blend then bring to a boil. Add sliced apples and mix until covered. Add apple mixture into baked pie crust then add 1” dough strips on top in lattice pattern. Brush water and egg mixture onto top crust.

  • 7.

    Bake at 350°F for 35 minutes.

*This pie has 320 calories and 12 grams of sugar per serving compared to the full-sugar version which has 360 calories and 26 grams of sugar per serving.

Nutrition Per Serving

Calories 320
Total Fat 19g
Saturated Fat 7g
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 45mg
Sodium 65mg
Total Carbohydrate 39g
Dietary Fiber 2g
Sugars 12g
Erythritol 5g
Protein 4g
Vitamin A 8% DV
Vitamin C 4% DV
Calcium 0% DV
Iron 8% DV
Apple Pie is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastes wonderful and mine is gluten free I frequently bake with Truvia. Apple pie is one of my favorites. I have changed the recipe to make it celiac and gluten free friendly but otherwise followed the rest of the instructions and no one can that it doesn't have sugar or wheat. Even made mini pies for my son's classmates and they liked this pie as well.
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from apple pie i made this for my friend who is a diabetic she really enjoyed this recipe.thanks again.
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! Just like mom used to bake! Great to serve on a Winter's night with my favorite Hazelnut coffee, sweetened with Truvia, of course!
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic ! While I'm not a big fan of apple pie (rather eat them raw), this one changed my mind and it's my favorite now especially with the reduced sugar content.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always a favorite in our house! EXCELLENT FLAVOR PERFECT RESULTS!! Papa is diabetic and Truvia has replaced regular sugar and other forms of sweeteners.
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from baked perfection This is fun and easy to bake. Tastes delicious. Truvia great addition.
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sweet I love a sweet low calorie food dish this is a way to not be so bad
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and Precious Ok if you didnt.' try a pie yet, you should begin to make this recipe and use Truvia products among with it. This is the best apple pie ever, and i can't say it is because of who do this. It is because of Truvia. Loved it, really, just try guys.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgrade your recipe! I've been cooking pies for years, and when I changed it up to this recipe, all my family was asking what I did to make it better. While a master chef never reveals their secrets, I can tell them that Truvia makes it work!
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from appelicious This has got to be the best Apple pie low cal recipe ever! You gotta have it!
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Apple Pie Flavor I am a huge apple pie fan and Truvia makes this one amazing! Since having bariatric surgery I live a sugar-free lifestyle and Truvia makes that so easy. This apple pie is full of flavor and still tastes sweet and homemade without all of the guilt! I love that Truvia does not change the texture of the pie either and when I made this one, even the non-believers in my house were amazed at how good it was. I didn't tell them til after they finished it and were applauding my amazing dessert , that it was made with Truvia! I saw some shocked faces and heard a few " No way's" . In my home I will use Truvia in all of my baking, cooking and beverages!
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Came out good I just made it and it came out pretty good and was easy
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and great taste!!! Made this for my family and friends, and it was a hit.No one know that it was made with truvia. It's my go to recipe for family gatherings now.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oustanding taste This apple pie recipe is a winner. I never divulge ingredients until someone asks, so no one is the wiser that this dessert is a healthier version of the old standby. The two changes I made were the type of apples, I use a combo of Rome and Granny Smith and I add a touch of cinnamon to the filling
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deliciously lower calorie~ I would only add some cinnamon to this recipe.....otherwise it is wonderful!!!!!!
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even fooled my friends!! I have made this pie several times now. I have served it to company, as well as taken it to various functions. Sometimes when you tell people that you have used a sweetener, they turn up their noses at "that diet food!" After the pie has been devoured that's when I let them know and the look on some of their faces is priceless! I have since shared this recipe with many.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like with sugar only better for you! I have been using Truvia regularly and have used them to substitute sugar since I have type 2 Diabetes. I have found my recipes taste great and nobody misses the real sugar in it. I totally recommend the switch.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic All American Pie The only thing I would add to this recipe is to use Jonagold Apples and DON'T slice them too small. Jonagold apples hold up well to baking if you don't slice them too small. The other thing I Always add to an apple pie recipe is both a touch of cinnamon as well as a Tablespoon of Brandy (or rum extract if you prefer) as this adds just the right amount of spark to an apple pie.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pie! This is so delicious! Easy to make and the best I've ever had.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious and less sugar than using traditional su I made this a month ago for company and it was gone! Everyone loved it. It was my first time using a Truvia recipe and I was glad I did. It had a great flavor.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its all about the taste This recipe was easy to use and the taste is wonderful.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best apple pie imaginable I made this recipe for thanksgiving. Since then I am constantly asked if I will be making this famous pie. I have now made 23 pies for family and friends the sweetness of the truvia is a perfect match for these apples
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flavors I tried this recipe and was pleasantly surprised. I have never made an apple pie that had the sugars and butter melted and mixed with the apples. Now I will not make it any other way. So simple and easy to do. The pie turned out perfectly and the apple mixture tasted just like baked apples instead of regular pie.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Apple pie from truvia tastes AWESOME SAUCEUME I just want to make an important note for those wanting to serve diabetics: this is reduced sugar, not sugar free, as you can see in the Nutrition Facts. (apples naturally contain sugar) Also, white flour is readily converted to sugar in the body, with a Glycemic Index of 85, higher than that of the apple's 40 and even the table sugar . If you are looking to make this diabetic friendly, try replacing the flour with almond meal and soy flour , and using Truvia as the sweetener.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from apple pie fantasy I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS RECIPE USING TRUVIA! THE PIE HAS A FRESHER TASTE AND ITS MORE SUCCULENT!
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i cant be real i cant imagine how easy this is my story is i used to buy sugar free pie filling and it taste gross and now all you have to do is put the truvia sugar blend in your pie recipes i wish i thought of it
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple steps I tried this recipe and i thought the steps were simple to follow. Everything turned out great. My family loved the taste of it and could not tell I used truvia over the regular sugar. My dad is diabetic so he was loving it and more when I told him I made it with truvia. I rate this recipe 5 stars and will continue to use it in the future.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Apple Pie I really liked this recipe and no one knew that I had used truvia sugars instead of regular sugar. They liked it. I will keep making the pies this way and I'm going to try making some other pies with the truvia sweetener.
Date published: 2015-02-04
  • y_2024, m_2, d_29, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_reci_1098, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truvia

Reviews